Indigenous Design Charter wins Smart Award for Architecture

Image (above): IDC display at the 2018 Hong Kong Business of Design Week (HK BoDW) exhibition.

DesignMind is proud to announce the 2020 Bates Smart Award for Architecture in Media – National Award, has been awarded to the International Indigenous Design Charter, created by DesignMind Co-Director, Russell Kennedy and Charter Co-Authors, Meghan Kelly,  Jefa Greenaway (Wailwan, Gamillaraay) and Brian Martin (Muruwari, Bundjalung, Gamillaraay).

The International Indigenous Design Charter is a professional best practice guide to authentic and respectful cultural representation in commercial design supported by the International Council of Design (ico-D). Collaborators include the NIKERI Institute (Deakin University’s National Indigenous Knowledge, Education, Research and Innovation Institute), Indigenous Architecture and Design Victoria and the Design Institute of Australia.

Images (left to right): Jefa Greenaway (HK BoDW 2018) – IDC Exhibition (Federation Square 2019) – Jefa Greenaway, IDC launch (Koorie Heritage Trust, Melbourne Design Week  2018).

The Bates Smart Award for Architecture in Media has been part of the Australian Institute of Architects annual awards program since its inception in 1986. This highly prestigious annual award recognises the role and contribution of projects and people who:

  • bring architecture to the attention of the general public
  • create awareness of the architectural practice
  • generate quality public debate about architectural issues and
  • provide information for relevant professionals and specialists in the areas of architecture, interior design and environmental design.

Deakin’s School of Communication and Creative Arts is continuing to work with design and Indigenous organisations worldwide to produce regionally specific iterations of the International Indigenous Design Charter.

The  Australian and International Indigenous Design Charters have received the following awards:

2020      Victorian Architecture Awards: Bates Smart Award for Architecture in Media – National Award
2019      Vice-Chancellor’s Award: Deakin University – Award of the Year
2018      Good Design Australia Award – Indigenous Designer Award
2018      Premier’s Design Awards, 2018 – Best in Category (Design Strategy)
2018      Premier’s Design Awards, 2018 – Award of the Year